This is the sound…

Originally written: 30th December 2011

2011 has been quite the year. Many things have happened, a lot of changes have taken place but overall it’s been a brilliant year for me. Musically it was brilliant, too: old bands released new albums, and new artists made their way into my life. Below are some of the tracks that, for me, have stood out and defined this year.

Alex Turner- Piledriver Waltz (from Submarine): this is the better version I think, and makes the ideal soundtrack for a long stroll on the beach.

Arctic Monkeys- Evil Twin (B-side to Suck It and See): such a contrast to the A-side but I instantly loved this. It just astounds me that the band still have the ability to make every song a masterpiece.

Arctic Monkeys- All My Own Stunts: proof if it were needed that Alex’s lyrics are still on fire. This song has some of my favourite lines on the album.

Bon Iver- Towers: This isn’t usually the sort of music I listen to, and I can say I don’t like all of Bon Iver’s music but this track has a strange sort of appeal to it.

The Black Keys- Little Black Submarines: El Camino is just unbelievably fantastic, and this song jumped right out before I’d even listened to the whole thing. It inspires nothing but a very emotional sing-along.

Foo Fighters- White Limo: a hilarious video, and the perfect driving anthem. This was the song I drove to when I first passed my driving test. Though it’s a silver Peugeot…

Kasabian- La Fee Verte: this was perfectly placed in the album, and kind of took on a bit of a spacey Beatles feel. True evidence of the band’s diversity.

The Kills- Future Starts Slow: I was so excited for a new Kills album, and it was this one that sparked my full-blown obsession. A beautiful song from one of my favourite albums.

Knife Party- Internet Friends: the incredible ‘side project’ featuring Rob and Gareth of Pendulum- what’s not to love? Apart from the fact they’ve not played any Scottish dates (yet…)

Miles Kane- Come Closer: I completely fell in love with Miles’ solo album. He proved he could hold his own and completely won the Aberdeen crowd over as a support act to Kasabian.

The Strokes- Machu Picchu: the long-awaited return of Julian and co didn’t disappoint. Even though I wasn’t there, this song is T in the Park as I saw my friends in the crowd while watching the band perform.

The Vaccines- Wetsuit/ Family Friend/ All in White: this year’s breakout band, providing THE summer soundtrack. Also an excellent support act to Arctic Monkeys last month.

Velvet Audio- Nice Cup of Tea/Junctions: a bit of shameless promotion for a band in my town, who earlier this year released their debut album. It’s on iTunes, check it out, it’s really very, very good.

Listen to Nice Cup of Tea in full here: http://soundcloud.com/rosscortg

Leave a Reply

